Chicken Korma Pie

19 Dec

I was in the supermarket yesterday and came across a chicken korma sauce. I love chicken korma curry when I go out for an Indian dinner, but I wouldn’t know the first thing about making it from scratch.

So, I’ll be honest with you, I cheated. It doesn’t happen very often, but why not give it a go? When I got home I decided to give the traditional curry a bit of a twist and make it into a pie instead, replacing rice with a layer of mash on top. A bit like a cottage or shepherd’s pie, but with a chicken korma filling! A successful experiment, I must say. I don’t know how this could go wrong with two of my favourite things: creamy mash with a crunchy top layer and chicken korma! The korma flavour is very mild which is just right for me as I can’t handle anything with even the slightest little kick to it. I did as I usually do, and threw in some mushrooms and onions for that extra something. If you like a bit of spice, then try another one of Patak’s sauces. I’ll definitely be making this again, and next time, I might try and find a recipe to make the korma from scratch.

 

Simmering korma and boiling potates

Simmering korma and boiling potates

Ingredients

3 chicken fillets, chopped into cubes

250g mushrooms, chopped

1 large onion, chopped finely

1 Patak’s Korma sauce

1tbsp sunflower oil

Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

4 large potatoes, peeled and cut in quarters

A large knob of butter

50ml of milk

Salt

 

(serves 4)

 

Method

  1. Boil the potatoes with a pinch of salt for 20-25 minutes or until soft.
  2. Meanwhile, heat the oil and add the cubes of chicken. Cook for 3 minutes. Add the mushrooms and onions and cook with the chicken for a further 8-10 minutes.
  3. Once cooked, add the korma sauce and allow to simmer for 10 minutes. Then place the chicken korma into a deep glass oven dish.
  4. When potatoes are soft, drain away the water and use a masher to mash away the lumps, adding the butter, milk and salt to taste, until creamy smooth.
  5. Place mash on top of the chicken korma and use a fork to line the mash, allowing it to cook through properly and get a crispy top layer. Place in the oven for 20 minutes, or until golden on top.

    Chicken korma pie

    Chicken korma pie

2 Responses to “Chicken Korma Pie”

  1. siryoz0 January 11, 2012 at 7:12 am #

    Lovely and I adore how you come up with that creation and that I think will be well appreciated. Must save enough funds and for the big event and hopefully my wife will appreciate my effort bringing her a romantic dinner for two.

    http://www.visitzest.co.uk

    • Kat January 11, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

      Thank you! I hope you and your wife enjoy!

Leave a comment